Virtual Open House Fall 2020

Back to School Fall 2020

Our Virtual House information does NOT include just one video.     
We have included a great deal of information below for those parents and students who like to be well-informed.  Further down on this page we have videos from the principal, assistant principals, and for our new sixth graders. Below that, we have a listing of our teachers.  To view a certain teacher's video, click on their name.

Welcome to the 2020-2021 school year.  Students at Rutland Middle take four core classes (Math, English Language Arts, Science, & Social Studies). They also take two Connections classes, also known as Specials or Exploratory classes, per Semester.  Our Connections classes consist of Chorus, Band, Music Appreciation, Business Management & Finance, Agriculture, Junior Leadership Corps, Family & Consumer Science, and Physical Education.  

We have three counselors on staff. Mrs. Jackson is our Sixth Grade Counselor.  Her email is lakeshia.jackson@bcsdk12.net.  Mr. Armstrong is our Seventh Grade Counselor.  His email is earl.armstrong@bcsdk12.net.  Our Eighth Grade Counselor is Mrs. White.  Her email address is twanna.white@bcsdk12.net  They are available to answer questions you have about class schedules and assist with concerns about academic, emotional or social problems.  They can also be reached by calling the main school number 478-779-4400.  The counseling department asks that  you complete the needs assessment so that students and parents can contribute to the goals for our comprehensive school counseling program. Please click HERE to access the survey.

Our grade level halls are further divided into smaller clusters, or teams.  For example, our sixth-grade hall has Team 6-1, 6-2, and 6-3.  A student who is assigned a homeroom teacher on Team 6-1 will have all his/her core classes on that team.  These classrooms are right next and across from each other. 

The following information has been organized as a one-stop-shop to answer many of your virtual learning and back to school questions.  Many of the links below take you to other areas of the Bibb County website.  


Rutland Middle E-Learning Informational Video 
Students should watch this 6 minute video before school begins on September 8.  It shows how to access the main programs we will be using for Virtual Learning.


Diagnostic Assessments
Parents, please assist us as students complete the diagnostic assessments scheduled as outlined below. For further information regarding the assessments, you can click on the links provided. Students are encouraged to take diagnostics during their assigned class period of the school day. It is imperative students complete each diagnostic on their own and to the best of their ability. The results from these diagnostic assessments will directly impact student course of study for this academic school year.


 

Remote Learning Option Information & Orientation Video from the District   
Dr. Tanzy
 Kilcrease, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning for the district, speaks about what our virtual learning will look like in this 30-minute video.

 

Bell Schedule   
During Remote Learning, we will follow the RMS master schedule outlined order with the BCSD synchronous and asynchronous schedule listed below.  Synchronous - learning is facilitated with the teacher online (live) at a designated time. Asynchronous - learning is done by students digitally without the teacher present.  Unplugged- time is spent on tasks that require little or no technology.


 School Day       
                                               Schedule        
 Monday Regular Schedule with at least 45 Minutes of Targeted Remediation for English Language Arts and Math A Connections

Tuesday Regular Schedule with at least 45 Minutes of Targeted Remediation for English Language Arts and Math B Connections

 Wednesday       Asynchronous Learning for Students (Preparing for Upcoming Lessons)
Reading/Language Arts - 1 hour assignment
Math - 1 hour assignment
Social Studies - 1 hour assignment
Science - 1 hour assignment
Electives - 1 hour assignments
Virtual Planning Day and Office Hours for Teacher

 Thursday Regular Schedule with at least 45 Minutes of Targeted Remediation for English Language Arts and Math A Connections

 Friday Regular Schedule with at least 45 Minutes of Targeted Remediation for English Language Arts and Math B Connections


Grading

In accordance with BCSD Grading Policy Regulation, IHA-R, middle school students learning experience should be measured, tracked, recorded, provided with feedback, and given the opportunity to learn subject matter using learning targets. Therefore, the grading policy advises the minimum for each nine weeks grading period:   

✓Homework 10%-2 grades                 

✓Assessment During Learning 50%-5 grades 

Assessment of Learning 40%-2 grades

If a student does not submit an assignment, teachers are required to use the grading mark “M,” which denotes missing in Infinite Campus.


Teacher Communication

Teachers can be reached through Remind, email, or you may call the school and leave a message. Wednesday’s are reserved for teacher conferences

Technology Assistance

When requesting technology assistance, first consult with one of the classroom teachers. They can troubleshoot many problems.  If they are not able to assist, please call or email the Media Specialist, Mrs. Freeman (leah.freeman@bcsdk12.net or 478-779-4379).  If she is not able to assist and the problem is a computer issue, you will be directed to the Technology Helpdesk at 478-765-8659.

Online Book Checkout and Accelerated Reader

Our English Language Arts teachers will be sharing our reading requirements with their individual students in the coming weeks.  Accelerated Reader is up and running and can be accessed through Classlink by clicking on the Renaissance Learning link.  Students have several options to access eBooks in Classlink.  They include: eBooks 6-12 in GALILEO, eBooks K-8 in GALILEO, and myOn.


Digital Resources

  • Logging in to a district owned device

  • Classlink   

  • CANVAS  Canvas is our online learning management system.  Click the links below for more information.

 

  • Office 365 Resources

  • Office 365 allows students to access the Microsoft Office programs (Word, Excel, Powerpoint). Office 365 also allows students to store their work in the cloud through One Drive. 

  • Microsoft Teams

  • Teams will allow students to interact through live video with their teachers. 

  • Remind

  • Remind is our new communication platform. Messages are sent in real time to an entire class, a small group, or just a single person.

  • Infinite Campus

  • Students can view their grades, attendance, bus assignment, and more here.

  • Parent Portal    

  • Digital Citizenship

  • SMART Learning Suite

  • School City

  • Students will take District assigned tests here. Students should be able to log into SchoolCity through Classlink. If there is a problem with the one click login, username is the student’s lunch number and the password is mm/dd/yyyy of their birthday. Make sure to include the slashes in the password!!

  • Freckle

  • Freckle is an online learning platform that allows students to practice Math & ELA on their own level     

  •  

Bibb County Meal Delivery Information     

Meal Order Form    

 

Online Books

  • Media Center Search (Destiny)

  • MyOn   Every student in the district K - 12 has a myOn account directly linked to their ClassLink myOn app. 

 

ESOL Department


P
rogram for Exceptional Children

If your child is a PEC student, your case manager will be the first contact for concerns. 
Sylvia Ray (
sylvia.ray@bcsdk12.net) is our PEC Lead and can assist you as well.


PBIS 
Positive Behavior Interventions and Support

The Bibb PBIS Mission is to improve the culture and climate of the Bibb County School District and community settings through the Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports framework.  The PBIS motto for Rutland is Responsible & Respectful. We expect students to abide by this motto whether at home learning virtually or in school.


Bibb County Code of Conduct
Bibb County Code of Conduct Spanish  

   

MEET THE TEACHER VIDEOS
If you know your team, go ahead and watch the videos for the teachers on your team.  
If you just know the name of your homeroom teacher, locate them below and watch the videos of the teacher on the team.  
                  Introduction Video From Principal Groeper
                      Welcome SIXTH GRADERS Video
                      Assistant Principal Welcome Video
                     Meet the Rutland Middle Office Staff
                       Meet Your Sixth Grade Counselor
                     Meet Your Seventh Grade Counselor
                      Meet Your Eighth Grade Counselor

To view the video, click on the teacher name. 

SIXTH GRADE
TEAM 6-1
 MATH  McKenzie King   Email  mckenzie.king@bcsdk12.net 
 SCIENCE  Brian Brocato  Email  brian.brocato@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Luvinda Malakius  Email  luvindia.malakius@bcsdk12.net
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Laurel Boone  Email  laurel.boone@bcsdk12.net
TEAM 6-2
 MATH  Dr. Patricia Woodward   Email patricia.woodward@bcsdk12.net 
 SCIENCE  Lyneisha Dunn White  Email  lyneisha.dunn@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS/SS       Mary Southerland  Email   mary.southerland@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS/SS     Dr. Sara Wood  Email  sara.wood@bcsdk12.net
TEAM 6-3
 MATH  Brittany Maynard  Email  brittany.maynard@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Lindsey Brown  Email  lindsey.brown@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Toshia Stephens  Email toshia.stephens@bcsdk12.net
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Brent Allen  Email  brent.allen@bcsdk12.net
SEVENTH GRADE

TEAM 7-1
 MATH  Maneka Duffy  Email  maneka.duffy@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Jazmynn Payton  Email  jazmynn.payton@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Winona Davis  Email  winona.davis@bcsdk12.net
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Andrew Brocato  Email andrew.brocato@bcsdk12.net
 TEAM 7-2
 MATH / SS  Meaza Fluellen  Email  meaza.fluellen@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE / SS  Sharon Gastin  Email  sharon.gastin@bcsdk12.net 
 LANGUAGE ARTS / SS  Brenda Palmer  Email   brenda.palmer@bcsdk12.net
TEAM 7-3
 MATH  Alexis Fluellen  Email  Alexis.fluellen@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Cynthia Johnson  Email  cynthia.johnson@bcsdk12.net 
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Rena Brown  Email  rena.brown@bcsdk12.net
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Dr. Fletcher Johnson  Email   fletcher.johnson@bcsdk12.net
EIGHTH GRADE
TEAM 8-1
 MATH  Jante Jenkins  Email  jante.jenkins@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Portia Notingham  Email portia.nottingham@bcsdk12.net 
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Jherica Quinn   
Email  jherica.quinn@bcsdk12.net


 SOCIAL STUDIES  Jenny McCoy  Email  jenny.mccoy@bcsdk12.net
TEAM 8-2
 MATH  Rahmel Amadi-Emina  Email rahmel.amadiemina@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Jamie Hurd Baggett  Email  jamie.hurdbaggett@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Sabrina McGhee  Email  sabrina.mcghee@bcsdk12.net 
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Robert Parker  Email  robert.parker@bcsdk12.net
TEAM 8-3
 MATH  Sheela Martin  Email sheela.martin@bcsdk12.net
 SCIENCE  Eric Mathews  Email  eric.mathews@bcsdk12.net
 LANGUAGE ARTS  Dr. Elizabeth Keaney  Email elizabeth.keaney@bcsdk12.net
 SOCIAL STUDIES  Kasey Smith  Email kasey.smith@bcsdk12.net
 CONNECTIONS    
 Band / Music  Chris Meyer  christopher.meyer@bcsdk12.net
 Chorus / Music  Jana Harrell  jana.harrell@bcsdk12.net
 Business Management  Charles Barrett  charles.barrett@bcsdk12.net
 Agriculture  Brandy Grimsley  brandy.grimsley@bcsdk12.net
 Agriculture  Samuel Martinez  samuel.martinez@bcsdk12.net
 Junior Leadership Corps  1st Sgt. Thomas  alvin.thomas@bcsdk12.net
 Family & Consumer Science  Michelle Cassimus  mcihelle.cassimus@bcsdk12.net
 Physical Education  LaTanya Sandifer  latanya.sandifer@bcsdk12.net
 Physical Education  Kelvin Talley  kelvin.talley@bcsdk12.net
 ESOL - all grades  Melly Ramos  melly.ramos@bcsdk12.com
 ACCESS - all grades  Noel Cannon Donaldson  noel.cannon@bcsdk12.net
 ACCESS - all grades  Donald Donaldson  donald.donaldson@bcsdk12.net
 SUPPORT STAFF
 Media Specialist  Leah Freeman  leah.freeman@bcsdk12.net
 PEC Lead Teacher  Sylvia Ray  sylvia.ray@bcsdk12.net
 Speech  Amy Self   amy.self@bcsdk12.net
 Academic Coach  Dr. Eric Thompson  eric.thompson@bcsdk12.net
 Counselor - 6th Grade  Lakeshia Jackson  lakeshia.jackson@bcsdk12.net
 Counselor - 7th Grade  Earl Armstrong  earl.armstrong@bcsdk12.net
 Counselor - 8th Grade  Twanna White  twanna.white@bcsdk12.net
 School Secretary  Brenda Thompson  brendad.thompson@bcsdk12.net
 Front Office Clerk  Tabitha Bloodsaw  tabitha.bloodsaw@bcsdk12.net
 Bookkeeper  Leah Tinsley  leah.tinsley@bcsdk12.net
 AP Clerk  Sandra Brocato  sandra.brocato@bcsdk12.net
 Nurse  Cynthia Eason  cynthia.eason@bcsdk12.net
 Registrar  Amy Turner  amy.turner@bcsdk12.net
 Media Clerk  Shaquanda Roberts  shaquanda.briggs@bcsdk12.net
 Campus Police  Officer McKenzie  carolyn.mckenzie@bcsdk12.net
 Hall Monitor  Jarius Roberts  jarius.roberts@bcsdk12.net
 ISS Teacher  Anthony Clark  anthony.clark@bcsdk12.net




















   
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.